Soundtrack Awesome Mix

Ready to Rock!? Here’s the new ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ Soundtrack Set List


The original Guardians of the Galaxy wasn’t just great because of the amazing chemistry of the cast.  It also features an epic classic rock soundtrack, “Awesome Mix Vol. 1”.  That first film’s soundtrack went platinum, proving that James Gunn is just as good at picking music for his film as he is writing and directing them.

Now, thanks to Rolling Stone, we know what songs to expect for Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2‘s soundtrack “Awesome Mix Vol. 2”.  The soundtrack hits store shelves and digital downloads on April 21, 2017.

Here’s the full tracklist:

  1. “Mr. Blue Sky” – Electric Light Orchestra
  2. “Fox on the Run” – Sweet
  3. “Lake Shore Drive” – Aliotta Haynes Jeremiah
  4. “The Chain” – Fleetwood Mac
  5. “Bring It on Home to Me” – Sam Cooke
  6. “Southern Nights” – Glen Campbell
  7. “My Sweet Lord” – George Harrison
  8. “Brandy (You’re a Fine Girl)” – Looking Glass
  9. “Come a Little Bit Closer” – Jay and the Americans
  10. “Wham Bam Shang-A-Lang” – Silver
  11. “Surrender” – Cheap Trick
  12. “Father and Son” – Cat Stevens
  13. “Flash Light” – Parliament
  14. “Guardians Inferno” – The Sneepers featuring David Hasselhoff

Looks like we were mostly right about our guesses for what songs to expect on the soundtrack.  Sadly, this album doesn’t feature a David Bowie song.  So, we got that one wrong.  However, to make up for that, James Gunn features an all-new original song he wrote that features the vocal talents of David Hasselhoff.  I can’t wait to hear this.

My personal favorite song on the soundtrack is Fleetwood Mac’s “The Chain”, which was also featured in many of the film’s trailers.  Furthermore, James Gunn explains why this and the Looking Glass song “Brandy” are so important to the crew of the Milano:

“There are two songs that are the most deeply embedded into the fibers of the film,” says Gunn. “‘The Chain’ is one because it is about the Guardians, at least in the way we use it, and we use it a couple of times in the movie. And the other one is ‘Brandy,’ which is an incredibly important song in the movie. Both happen to be two of my favorite songs from the Seventies.”.

You can read more about the tracklist and how Gunn feels about each song in this Rolling Stone interview.

So get those tape decks ready.  Who am I kidding, people barely use CD players anymore these days.  Get those mp3 players ready, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2‘s “Awesome Mix Vol. 2” is going to rock.  You can pick it up in stores or digitally on April 21, 2017.

Now You Know Whassup, Chucks!

Source: Rolling Stone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *